Amelia Bedelia’s Apple Pie


“A was once an apple-pie,
Pidy, Widy, Tidy, Pidy, Nice insidy, Apple-pie!” Edward Lear.

When I was growing up, mum use to say that I was like Amelia Bedelia – messy, uncoordinated and clumsy,  but not bad at baking.  I love pies, lemon meringue pies, chicken pot pies, steak and kidney pies, even the old Fray Bentos pies. I especially like American Apple Pies – stuffed with layer upon layer of apples.

Considering the Christmas tree is up, Michael Buble is playing – I thought I’d make a Christmassy apple pie, filled with ginger and spice and all things nice. The all things nice being – ginger caramel sauce, ginger cake pieces, sticky apples and a spiced pastry.

Apple and ginger spiced pies

Pastry
8oz plain flour
2 tsp ginger
2 tsp mixed spice
2 oz margarine
2 oz lard
water
1 tbsp Rum cream

1. Sift the flour and then add in the spices.
2. Add the margarine and lard, and cut it into the flour with a knife.
3. Drizzle in the rum cream and a little water and use the knife to bring it all together.
4. Pat together to form a ball, wrap in cling film and leave in the fridge to rest for about 2 hours.

Ginger Caramel Sauce
Recipe adapted from My Man’s Belly.

1 tbsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp ground cloves
pinch salt
1 cup double cream
1 cup of light brown sugar
1/2 cup of dark muscovado sugar
1 tbsp maple syrup
5 tbsps butter
1/4 cup water

1. Put the cream and spices into a pan and simmer.
2. in a separate pan put the water, sugars, maple syrup and butter and bring to the boil.
3. Leave to simmer with a lid on for 5-7 minutes until it gets a lovely caramel colour.
4. Pour the cream into the sugar mixture and whisk. It will bubble and froth, but keep whisking. Simmer for another 5 minutes then leave on the side to cool and thicken up.
5. Breathe in the creamy gingerness – it is like sitting on a Christmas cloud.

Filling

Jamaican Ginger Cake
4 medium sized cooking apples
1 tsp ground ginger
Ginger caramel sauce.

Add the ginger caramel to the sliced and diced apples. Crumble in 2  inches worth of Jamaican Ginger cake.

Roll out your pasty and cut into circles and put into a greased cupcake pan.  Fill each pie with the apple and caramel sauce.

Put lids on your mini pies and put egg wash on them. Use the egg wash to seal the lips as well. Pop into the oven at 175C for 15-20 minutes, until golden brown.

I served this with some cream whipped with some more of the rum cream and a drizzle of the ginger caramel sauce.

The results: Nice insidy. Could have added more apple and cinnamon mixture.

What is your favourite pie?

This entry was posted in Puddings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Amelia Bedelia’s Apple Pie

  1. Those look absolutely divine! And I loved Amelia Bedilia as a child. I’m glad to see you were able to adapt my caramel sauce for your pie. :)

  2. Oh my gosh, I totally forgot about Amelia Badelia! I used to read those books all the time! The pies look delicious as well. Great post.

  3. I never tried ginger and apple together in a pie, but I am confident it would be delicious! I love the little leaves and the tiny cupcake sized pies! Thank you for the inspiration, and for reminding me of one of my favorite characters: Amelia Bedilia!

  4. SarahCupcake says:

    How cute are these! :) Amelia Bedilia was always on my bookshelf as a kid.

  5. You did a wonderful job on these, they look so delicious! Also the use of the ginger cake in the filling is a neat idea. Between the sauce and the filling-I am really wanting to try these. Good read also-tie in to Amelia Bedilia!

  6. Manu says:

    OOOOOHHHH MY! These apple pies look divine! I would love to have one right now with the caramel sauce on top! Yum yum! What a great blog you have! So happy to have found you! :-)

  7. Ok – first off – these pies look incredible! Great job. I could eat a few without even thinking about it!
    My kids bring amelia bedelia home from the school library – my daughter in particular loves the books – but me? they drive me crazy! She is so nutty, scattered – etc. Whenever I see one of those books coming out of their backpack – I go NOOOOO! – LOL :)

  8. Monet says:

    I adored her growing up! I want to go reread my favorites now! Thank you for sharing such a soul-satisfying recipe. I’m just about to pull out a loaf of banana bread and sit down to a cup of tea. I hope you are having a lovely evening too!

  9. Baker Street says:

    absolutely divine! The ginger caramel sauce looks divine. :)

  10. Maggie @ kitchie coo says:

    Amelia Bedelia! I hadn’t thought of her since I was a kid and now I must get some of these books for my daughter. She was one of my favs. This pie looks absolutely amazing, I love the ginger caramel sauce. Wow!
    My favorite pie in the world is pecan, but apple is a close second. Yum!

  11. Ruth says:

    The pies look wonderfully christmassy, and the flavours you have used are perfect for the season! I don’t think I can resist baking these this weekend!

  12. Vanisha says:

    Oh my goodness! These looks gorgeous and sooo festive! Loving that you used Jamaican Ginger Cake (my absolute favourite!!) Ooh just seen the rum addition. This has to be the recipe I have come across in a while! Bookmarked your site – will be back soon :) x

  13. These are so lovely and perfect for the holidays! I am not familiar with Jamaican Ginger Cake, will have to look it up :)

  14. mamaloli says:

    Must try this soon ^_^

  15. Dara says:

    I LOVE Amelia Bedelia! One of my favorite childhood characters. Apple pie is great too!

  16. Cristina says:

    I absolutely luv these mini pies you’ve shared here! Mini pies have been on my list of things to make and conquer…still haven’t tried it yet. I really like the idea of portion control and making them small and cute. :)

    I totally remember Amelia Bedilia. My grade school teacher used to read them out loud to the class. I always marvelled at how she took things so literally. Classics! ;)

  17. Pingback: Noggin the Nog – Eggnog | bananamondaes

  18. Pingback: apple pie | Radical Muffin

Leave a Reply

