Dinner

Coconut, lime and fish curry


“Are you suggesting coconuts migrate?”

At school, every time the German teacher was sick (she may have been bunking off as I don’t think she could actually speak German), the scary French teacher used make us watch Monty Python. The first time I saw Monty Python and the Holy Grail, the coconut and swallow scene made me cry with laughter. Uncontrollable, gulping air, blubbing my eyes out crying at the hilarity of swallows carrying coconuts. This hairy nut is so amazingly versatile and I had forgotten that it can also be used as a pretend horse. I’ve attached a clip for those of you who haven’t had the pleasure of this conversational dance of death.

I thought I’d add just one more lime and coconut recipe. This dish is ideal if you happen to find yourself stranded on a desert island like Robinson Crusoe.

This recipe is one of my brother’s favourites. And I have to say – it is absolutely delicious.

Coconut, Lime & Fish Curry recipe
(Makes 4 – adapted from Jamie’s Dinners)

5 tbsps of coconut oil
3 tbsps brown mustard seeds
20 curry leaves
2 tsp cumin seeds (I used cumin powder)
1 tsp coriander seeds (or coriander powder)
2 tsp garam masala
1 chili powder
pinch of cayenne pepper
3 red chillies
2 inches of grated ginger
6 cloves of garlic, chopped
2 onions
4 fresh tomatoes
Pre cooked basmati brown rice
1/2 pint of water
2 cans of coconut milk
1lb of fish (pollack, cod, coley or haddock)
Prawns
Sea salt
Ground black pepper
Juice of two limes
4 tablespoons of freshly grated coconut
A hammer
Plantain (just coat in cornflour and fry to have as a side dish)

Prepare your coconut by cracking it with a hammer. You need small enough pieces that you can grate.

Next, put all your coconut oil into a pan. Add the mustard seeds, curry leaves, cumin, coriander, Garam Masala, chili powder (or cayenne) and turmeric. Let them sizzle briefly to release their aroma and until you have sore eyes.

Then add in the chillies, ginger and garlic and let this cook for a  minute. Then add in your chopped onions and cook until they are soft.

Add in your cooked rice (you can add in white basmati rice and water and cook the rice with the spices – but I prefer brown rice and wanted this to be quick). Also add in your coconut milk and some of your shredded coconut.

After 5 minutes of simmering, add in your diced tomatoes, fish and prawns, and salt to taste.

After 15 minutes of further simmering, your dish should be ready.  Just stir in the lime juice, fresh coconut and half the coriander.

To finish top with another wedge of lime and sprinkle with fresh green coriander and the rest of the coconut. Serve in warmed bowls.

Ta Da!

Update 19th November

My rival, bananatuesdaes would like me to publish a correction. Apparently the dish is actually a soup and should look more…like this.

“The idea here is to coat all the rice grains with the oil and spices for a minute or two before adding the cooking liquid (water and coconut milk). Throw your prawns in towards the end of cooking so they don’t go rubbery. Note the soupy look of the curry. Mmmm!”

It’s alright, I s’pose.

11 thoughts on “Coconut, lime and fish curry

  1. I was wondering how lime will taste it fish curry. really delicious when I tasted once. This is the favourite dish of my family now. Thanks for posting this.

  2. Glad I stopped by to see this amazing dish. I do have a weakness for tropical dishes and my fridge always has a bottle of key lime juice in it! This is a must try for me, so I have saved the recipe. I may have to get some of the items at a specialty grocers, but it looks well worth it. Thanks for posting this-yum!

  3. You take the most stunning photos! I love anything that has coconut, lime and curry in it. Thanks for giving me a laugh at work today, I love Monty Python!

  4. There is no battle between us. My version (the proper one) is far soup-erior! I shall post it on my rival blog ‘bananatuesdaes’

  5. Hi. How is this an anti-candida recipe? There’s rice and beer in the recipe. I thought both of these are “no no’s”?? Thanks

    1. The beer is to drink with it – obviously not for those who are on an anti-candida diet. I can stomach brown rice, not white – everyone has different tolerances. Go with what suits you.

Leave a Reply

