Breakfast

Kenny Bear’s Big Breakfast


I love breakfast. It is my favourite meal of the day.

We always had cooked breakfasts growing up. Pancakes and jam, kippers and poached eggs, grilled grapefruit with a cherry on top, fried eggs with bacon, hot buttered crumpets, boiled egg and soldiers, sausages and beans, potato cakes. Since travelling about – I’ve had even more incredible and delicious breakfasts: saltfish with caliloo, plantain and festival (Jamaica), breadfruit with peanut butter, salty fried eggs with rice and peas and banana (Costa Rica), huevos rancheros (Mexico), pancakes with bacon and maple syrup, bagels and lox, fruit stuffed french toast, egg white omelette, cinnamon buns (USA),Β  award winning spurtle porridge, potato scone rolls (Scotland), miso soup, jellyfish, tofu, rice and raw fish (Japan), falafel and eggs (Egypt), fried carrot cake, kaya toast (Singapore), natas – egg tarts (Portugal), ham and cheese rolls (Germany), pan au chocolat with hot chocolate, croissants with jam (France), spam and eggs (Hawaii).

What better way to celebrate my love for breakfast, than by recreating Kenny Bear’s big breakfast from Richard Scarry’s The Best Word Book Ever. I love these books – I love any books with lots and lots of detail that it takes you a good ten minutes to look at everything on the page.

Kenny Bear’s Big Breakfast

Kenny’s breakfast consists of: fruit juice, cereal, cream, pancakes, butter, maple syrup, a toaster, fried eggs, bacon, toast, honey, jam, hot cocoa, cool milk,

and…a waffle.

Here’s my version.

Bacon and eggs is my absolute favourite. I fry them in coconut oil for a great flavour.

Waffle Recipe
2 cups plain flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
2 eggs
2 cups buttermilk or milk
4 tablespoons butter, melted
2 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp maple syrup

I sometime swap the plain flour for wholewheat and add in some chopped walnuts as well.

I add in a bit of yoghurt and milk into my white bread recipe to give it a bit more flavour.

I can’t take credit for the muffin…I bought it to finish off the breakfast montage! But what a great idea for a muffin.

This whipped cream and baileys was incredible. I made the cocoa with Green & Blacks darj cocoa powder and melted in a couple of squares of 70% dark chocolate to be extra decadent.

Some other classic retro breakfast books…

Tomie dePaola - Image from thefoodieskitchen.com
The Boy Who Wouldn't Eat Breakfast - Elizabeth Brozowska. Image from fun-all-around.blogspot.com

This morning – I had a very unique breakfast of corn tortillas with cheese and ham followed by a beetroot juice (with yellow pepper, cucumber, cox apple, celery, broccoli, lemon and beetroot) which was deliciously sweet.

Let me know what your favourite breakfast is….

9 thoughts on “Kenny Bear’s Big Breakfast

  1. Wow! I remember that Richard Scarry book – I had the same and was somehow facinated by the picture of wiggly bacon rashers!! These days my favourite breakfast would have to be fresh pancakes with maple syrup. Predictable but true….

  2. I love breakfast! I would happily eat all that yummy food every day if I could. Great post. Your photos are fab.

Leave a Reply

