Cakes

The Moog Coffee Eclairs


“One of the nicest of all the small people that live in Doiley Wood, is the Moog. Not the brightest of animals perhaps, but a heart of gold. It is thought that he might be some type of dog. But no one is quite sure.”

“I think I am a doggy!”

The Moog

This is one of my all time favourite children’s cartoons from the 80s – Willo the Wisp. Set in the enchanted forest of Doiley Wood, live Mavis Cruet, the overweight fairy who can’t fly, Arthur the sarcastic caterpillar, Carwash the cat and Evil Edna – a witch that happens to also be a television set. To my horror a recent version had replaced Edna with some barely evil flat screen TV. Outrageous.

The best, the most unusual of all the characters, however, is the beige coloured sausage, known as – THE MOOG.

I am drawn to irrepressibly happy creatures. And the Moog definitely qualifies as such.

For those of you who don’t know it – here is a clip. I’m sorry if you end up singing the infectious tune for the rest of the day.

So, in the spirit of the lovely Moog, I decided to make some lovely Moog shaped desserts – and fill them with something I hate – but that my husband loves – coffee cream!

I hate coffee. My brother and I made a pact when we were 5, never to drink coffee. It was dark and evil and seemed to have enslaved all the adults we knew. To this day I have never had coffee, or coffee flavoured things. However, my brother reneged on the agreement at the age of 18, although, he didn’t tell me till he was 24! So ashamed he was of breaking the unbreakable pact. You – bananatuesdaes – are like the evil hairy moog – pictured below – seduced by the evil coffee drink. However, I forgive you and have made these coffee ‘blurgh’ eclairs as a peace offering. (I did keep one – non-coffee one for me though)

Choux pastry eclairsMoog Coffee Eclair Recipe

Moog Eclairs

I used Raymond Blanc’s recipe which is really easy peasy, lemon squeezy.

65ml water
65ml whole milk
55g unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 tsp caster sugar
pinch of fine sea salt
100g plain flour
4 organic/free-range medium eggs, beaten

Coffee Icing
1 cup icing sugar
5 tsps strong coffee.

Coffee Cream
175ml pot of double cream
2 tbsp baileys
2 tbsp coffee
2 tbsp icing sugar

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180oC or gas mark 4.
  2. Put the water, milk, butter, salt and sugar into a saucepan and bring to the boil.
  3. Add in the flour and stir vigorously until the mixture comes away from the sides.
  4. Add in your beaten eggs a drop at a time, stirring to blend it in. The final mixture should drop off your spoon.
  5. Fill a piping bag and pipe 1cm wide eclairs onto a baking tray lined with greaseproof paper.
  6. Bake in the oven for 25 minutes.
  7. Whisk some double cream until slightly thick, then add in the baileys and icing sugar and the strong coffee.
  8. Make the coffee icing with 1 cup icing sugar and 5 tsps strong coffee.
  9. Cut the eclairs in half and fill with the cream.
  10. Dip the other half into the coffee icing.

Coffee Eclairs with cacao nibs

Little eclairsI topped some with some cacao nibs and dark chocolate ganache. Oh and some cute chocolate covered coffee beans.

Coffee eclair

I declare an eclair

8 thoughts on “The Moog Coffee Eclairs

  1. You have a great blog and the eclairs looks AMAZING!!!! Did you do the animations on the photos too? They are so cute.

  2. You’ve just brightened my morning in 3 seconds flat! I’ve never seen Willo the Wisp and now I’m all about youtubing videos of it! Your eclaires look addicting in the best way and it’s been far too long since I’ve had one. I feel a Willo and eclaire session coming on! What a fun post!

  3. Thanks for the recipe.
    Please clarify for the filling 175 ml double cream or some cream and 2 tbsp baileys or 1 tsp baileys?

  4. love love love this! Slightly love the moog element rather than eclair. now get to the mince treats 🙂 x

    1. Very good peace offering – although living at the opposite end of the country so I can’t have any is less good.

      Ps. I also drink tea. Hahahahaha!

Leave a Reply

